Coco’ Mojito// Homemade Happy Hour

OK, so I know that since I’m a legitimate member of the working class again, I can’t really break for a cocktail whenever I feel like it anymore. That doesn’t mean that I can’t still enjoy them on the other 3 days of the week though!

Today’s Homemade Happy Hour selection is my official poolside beverage for the Summer of 2011. Actually, since summer is a few weeks away still, let’s call this my official poolside beverage for the Spring of 2011. That way I can pick another favorite in a few weeks.

Coco’ Mojito

In a cocktail shaker, combine 1 tsp. raw sugar, 2-5 lime segments (about 1/3 small lime) and about 5 fresh mint leaves. Muddle (mash together) with a wooden spoon. Add to the mixture 3-4 oz. coconut rum, 1-2 oz pina colada mix, and a few ice cubes. Cover and shake shake shake. Top off with a splash of club soda and gently mix for a second. Strain into a big tall glass of ice. (I like to add the crushed mint leaves to the glass too, but I feel like the limes just take up too much precious drink room in my glass.)

Leave a Reply

