Project ReStyle #7: Royal Blue Grecian Gown

I’m back in the ReStyling game! After a few weeks off, I thought it was about time to get back into the Project ReStyle gang and share a new project with you. I may have missed a few weeks there, but I have every intention of catching up and have 52 new projects before 2011 is over.

This week’s ReStyle is one of my restyled formal dresses that I made for the charity fashion show I participated in earlier this month. Originally, this dress was a shapeless, bland plus size gown that a church lady or grandma would wear. Now it’s a fun Grecian inspired gown that a plus size (or not so plus size) lady can wear on a hot night on the town!

Click image to view Etsy listing

First, I removed all decorative buttons and baubles from the dress. I removed the original long sleeves and transformed them into robe gathered shoulder ties that drape elegantly on the backside for an extra bit of back arm coverage. I also separated the top layer of fabric up the back seam to better accommodate the overall flow. After adding a simple gold lame rope belt, the transformation was complete! Originally a size 30 dress, now even a size 6/8 like myself can rock this look!

 

Click to view Etsy listing

 

 

One thought on “Project ReStyle #7: Royal Blue Grecian Gown

  1. I really, really like the color of this dress. I have something in a similar color and it, too, is flowly. You did a wonderful job giving life to that dress!

Leave a Reply

