what makes you think you’re the one// remix #8

Keeping with my Style Icon theme for today, I decided to try to incorporate a little Stevie Nicks magic into today’s remix. Too bad I didn’t really include ANYTHING long, flowing, or really even slightly bohemian into my 30 choices. (Too bad this wasn’t a summer remix!) This just meant I had to work a little harder though, and I was up for the challenge.

I actually like how this outfit turned out, and I think it does a great job of showing how someone or something can influence your personal style without necessarily mimicking it directly. While this dress is more 1980’s church lady than bohemian-gypsy, I was able to style it in a way that still manages to capture that free-spirited, rock and roll look that Stevie was known for.

It helped that today is day 5 of my hair cycle, meaning that since my last shampoo it’s seen straight irons, serums, dry shampoo, buns, scarves, curls, pretty much the works. I try to only wash my hair 1-2 times a week to keep the color vibrant longer, so I’ve come up with style options for every stage in between washes. So today was the perfect day for wild hair, a look Stevie embodied with the best of them.

Yes, that is snow on the ground in a few of these pics. We got a little more last night, but luckily it didn’t stick to the roads (or ice over) so I can tolerate it. I don’t know what possessed me to go out in it with practically bare feet though. That was crazy.

For the record (Mom), I normally wear a slip under this dress because, as you can see, it’s very sheer. However, I opted to pair it with leggings instead, to further embrace the boho-gypsy look. I’ve worn these leggings to yoga class before with nothing over them, so I felt fine layering them under a see thru dress.

2 thoughts on “what makes you think you’re the one// remix #8

  1. I also only wash my hair a couple times per week. I have curly hair so it really only needs a rinse. By the way, you nailed the Stevie Nicks going-to-church look. I couldn’t think of a more classy boho look. Maybe because I’ve never seen one before? Bravo.

Leave a Reply

