Laundry Gal// Remix #1

 

What does one wear when her plans for the day include washing clothes and moving furniture? Apparently, this.

Not the best circumstances to start a new fashion challenge under, I must say. I would have loved to started things off with a cute dress and heels, but frankly, it’s really hard to move furniture in platform pumps.

Today I had two objectives: attempt to get some stains out of a few vintage dresses I recently acquired and start the arduous task of moving my studio (and inventory) down two flights of stairs into my den. OK, so it’s really more like 1 and 1/2 flights, but still a pain. While the two-room studio/storage set-up I have going right now is pretty sweet, it’s not very practical. For one, it’s on the top floor of my house where I never go, and I’m constantly bringing things downstairs to clean, mend, style, etc. Two, the lighting is horrible in there except for early in morning, so not practical for taking photos. Most importantly, there’s nowhere to sit down up there.

It’s going to take a lot of work to make this switch up happen, but I’m excited about how the final product is going to turn out. The den is a converted two car garage with really high ceilings and French doors that open onto my driveway, perfect for transporting clothing. It’s full of couches, tables, trunks, cabinets, and my book collection right now though, so I’ll have to find new homes for that stuff too. Like I said, lots of work.

The good news is that 4 of the 6 items I laundered today are now stain free! The other two I’m still working on, but they are already not nearly as dark as they were originally.

I love this shirt. It was my grandma’s. Turns out it wasn’t quite weather appropriate today though, I was freezing while taking these shots! I’m so thankful for my tripod and remote, it made the process so much quicker than the last remix round.

2 thoughts on “Laundry Gal// Remix #1

  1. laundry girl indeed! you look adorable in that headband…it’s people like you who make me want to cut bangs again. i always hate them when i have them, but they’re so stinking cute on others (i.e., you!) that i try try again. šŸ™‚ great ensemble. i’d love to see the shirt tucked as a version as well.
    -brittney
    http://adayinlifetoo.blogspot.com (fellow remixer!)

Leave a Reply

