Fried Noodles// What I Eat

After the day I had today, I needed a little comfort food for dinner so I decided to stir up some yummy fried noodles! This dish is based on the Fried Udon Noodles recipe in The Kind Diet cookbook. I followed the recipe the first time I made the dish (subbing in gluten-free pad tai noodles for the udon) but since then I’ve tweaked it a little to make it more to my tastes.

Fried Noodles

1/2 pack brown rice fettuccine style noodles

2 tbls olive oil

2 cups thinly sliced cabbage

1 small onion, halved and thinly sliced

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 & 1/2 tbls paprika

1 tsp sea salt (more to taste)

1/2 tsp black pepper

1/2 cup daikon, cut into  match sticks*

1 piece kombu, broken into tiny pieces*

hemp seeds & fresh parsley for garnish*

*These guys are totally optional. Sometimes I add them if I have them handy, sometimes I don’t.

Step one: Bring a large pot of water to boil and cook pasta according to directions. When al dente, drain and sit to the side.

 

This is the BEST brand of gluten free pasta!! So good, and not at all mushy!

 

Step two: In a large skillet (I used an electric wok, but just because it was still out on the counter from when I made popcorn the other night… but back to the skillet), heat 1 tbls oil over medium high heat. Add cabbage and cook until tender, about 10-15 minutes, stirring frequently. Add some water from the pasta pot if it starts to stick. Meanwhile…

Step three: In another skillet, heat remaining oil. Add onions and sweat a bit (the onions, not you). Add garlic, paprika, salt & pepper and stir to combine. Cook mixture over medium high heat until the onions start to caramalize. When things start to stick, add a little water to the pan. This helps a nice little sauce to start to form around the onions. You want to be sure to let the onions sweat on their own first though, this brings out a sweetness that you don’t want to miss! Keep adding water and cooking until the “sauce” is nice and thick.

At this point, you can add the kombu and daikon, if you wish. The dish is fine without them, but with them it’s just that much better for you.

Once the onions are done (about 5-10 minutes total), combine with the cabbage and the pasta in which ever skillet is bigger. Cook until heated through (1-3 minutes). Salt to taste.

Serve with hemp seeds and parsley, if desired. It’s a simple little noodle dish, but something about the sweetness of the onions and the smoky paprika really hits the spot!

Note: I normally use plain old green cabbage in this dish, but I had a purple head in the fridge so I gave it a try tonight. Purple isn’t bad, but green is better- it gets softer and more noodle like when cooked.

 

Leave a Reply

