A Healthy Homemade Happy Hour

3.jpg
It’s been a while since my last Homemade Happy Hour post, and there’s a good reason for that. One of my New Year’s goals was to get fit again (at least to my standards) so I started the year off by counting calories. Being a gluten-free vegan, my diet is already about as healthy as you can get, but for some reason I was gaining weight and I was pretty sure I knew why: portion sizes, lack of exercise, and “liquid” calories. Sure, an ounce of whiskey may have 65 calories, but make it a double, add some ginger ale, and repeat a few times each evening and it adds up. I cut out alcohol altogether for a week or so, and have limited myself to 1 drink/day, tops, until I reach my goal. (Not to say that I have 1 drink every day; that’s just my limit when I do.)

Since my HHH’s are one of my favorite features on my blog, I thought I would share with you what I have been drinking a lot of lately- healthy green protein drinks. I started subbing these in for lunch every day (followed by a hearty snack when I get the late afternoon munchies) and I can’t even tell you how much better I’ve felt! They really pack a energy kick and taste great, plus they’re quite filling so I don’t feel like I’m missing out at all.

1.jpg
You can really customize this drink a bunch of ways to suit your taste buds as long as you stick to this basic formula:
1 part frozen fruit
1 part leafy green (I recommend spinach for newbies, it’s the mildest green flavor)
2 parts milk alternative (I suggest either coconut, almond, or hemp)
3 tbls protein powder (hemp is a great one if you’re trying to stay vegan!)

Different fruits and milks will produce different flavor combinations, so I suggest experimenting a little to find one that you like. Here’s the combo that I’ve been using lately, I think it’s really yummy!
2.jpg

Berry & Hemp Green Drink
1/2 c frozen blueberries
1-2 chunks frozen pineapple (for sweetness)
1/2 spinach
1 c coconut milk (important: not the stuff in the can!! I use coconut milk beverage which is a much thinner version of the canned stuff)
3 tbls hemp protein powder

Combine all in blender (or in my case, Magic Bullet) and blend until smooth. If mixture gets too thick for your tastes, add water to thin. Drink and feel strong all day long!
4.jpg

One thought on “A Healthy Homemade Happy Hour

  1. I love my Magic Bullet! I got one on sale, and it has become my kitchen buddy! I am going to make this smoothie, it sounds really good! But I’ll use So Delicious coconut milk. I like it even better than the Silk.

Leave a Reply

