Let’s go on a tour!// my skin care routine

Day four of being snowed in. Things are getting a little boring around here, to say the least. Since I can’t really do another outfit post if I am wearing sweatpants everyday, I thought I’d share with you guys some other random information that you probably don’t care to know. So today we’re going on a little tour of EB’s medicine cabinet so I can show you some of the lovely skin care products that use.

Let me start by saying that I have never had great skin. Oily and acne covered one season, dry and itchy the next. Big pores, lots of freckles, dark circles… I’ve had them all. Lately though, my skin has been awesome! So much so that I’ve even had people notice and compliment on how great my skin looks! I changed a few things up a few months ago and I think that’s what has made the difference.  I guess then it’s not a complete waste of time for me to share this all with you then, since it seems to be working! In fact, a couple of these products I actually started using after reading another blogger’s review of them. (I can’t remember who it was… if you think it might be you let me know and I will totally give you the credit you deserve!)

For starters, I know you may not want to hear this, but I think my diet has had the biggest effect on my skin. Sticking to a vegan diet does wonders for your skin clarity! I’ve also cut out practically all refined sugars and processed foods, two other biggies when it comes to breakouts. A big challenge, I know, but it makes a BIG difference.

Along those same lines, drinking a lot of water also helps! Got to stay hydrated!!

Okay, enough of the lecturing, lets start talking products!

The best thing I have ever found to wash my face with is Cetaphil cleansing lotion. For a while I was using Cetaphil Antibacterial bar soap on my face and body, but during the winter I think the lotion is much less drying. (I still use the bar for the rest of me though.) I usually buy the generic brand to save a few bucks. I also use this to take off my eye makeup, unless I happened to wear a whole lot of it that day and need something stronger. I massage the lotion all over my face then lay a hot wash cloth over it for a moment, then use it to wipe off the cleanser. The combo of the steam and the exfoliation of the cloth gets my face super clean without drying it out at all.

Every other day, I also use an exfoliation cream in the shower. Usually I use this St. Ives Apricot Scrub (Renew & Firm), but if I have a few breakouts then I’ll switch to the Proactiv. In case it’s been a few years since you’ve checked out the apricot scrub, you should give it another shot. It’s nowhere near as grainy and harsh as I remember it being when I was in middle school.

Once a week I use a deep cleansing mask. Is it just me, or is there not something exceptionally feminine feeling about wearing a mask? Just me? Ok then, moving on… These are a few of the ones I use. Generally whatever is on sale or has the best packaging. I think I’m going to start making my own as soon as I can figure out where to buy the clay. The Proactiv Refining Mask is really great for breakout if you cover the bump with it before bed at night.

As someone who just recently crossed over into my 30’s, I have realized that moisturizer is my new best friend. Having said that, I still try to keep it simple (and cheap). At night, I use CeraVe PM facial moisturizing lotion. It’s thicker than a day lotion but not as thick as most night creams. I still have very sensitive skin so this is important. It also has stuff in it that makes your skin look younger and brighter too, which is great for such a gentle lotion. During the day, I just use the same Cetaphil Lotion that I use on the rest of my body. (I also get the generic version of this.) Before I put this on though, I use some kind of “treatment”. I found this bottle of Skin Genesis in my medicine cabinet one day so I’ve been using it lately. I like it, but I’m not totally sure it’s doing anything. My pores do seem smaller on my nose though. Again, if I have breakouts, this is when I treat them with the Proactiv lotion.

The eyes… this is one area that I’m still working on. I haven’t really found a great eye cream that I love. I’ve been using this eye gel by Olay. Its good, but I can only use it at night. If you try to wear it under makeup, the eye makeup gets clumpy and doesn’t go on smooth.

Finally, we have sunscreen. As you can tell from my pictures, I am extremely fair-skinned with lots of little freckles that get bigger every time they see the sun. I try to always wear some kind of sunblock on my face, not counting the stuff that’s in my makeup. My absolute favorite that I’ve found so far is The Supernatural by Philosophy. It’s a little pricey ($30 for a little tube) but seeing as how everything else I use falls on the cheaper end of drugstore options, I think its a-ok to splurge on this one. I got this tube of The Present as a tester, and I like it as well as a makeup base. I only use it on occasions when I need serious makeup though, whereas I use the Supernatural every single day. It does a great job of evening out my skin tone so much, some days I just skip makeup all together.

That’s it! Now that I write it all out, it sounds like I use a lot of products and steps, but I really don’t. To prove it, here’s a look at my bathroom “counter.” I have pedestal sinks that only hold a tube of toothpaste, so this little cabinet top is all the bathroom primping space I have. Sure, I have another one on the other side of the room that serves as my “hair station,” but you get the idea.

What about you? Any products that you love to use?

Leave a Reply

