Black Bean Hummus// What I Eat

Before I begin, let me just say that it is almost impossible to make photos of bean dip look appetizing. Please believe me when I say that this stuff tastes so much better than it looks though!

I used to not be a fan of hummus, at ALL! Having only tried the store-bought kind that comes in the little plastic tubs, it just seemed like a pretty unappetizing, boring dip. Then a friend gave me a Magic Bullet a few years ago. Looking for new things that I could make in this truly magical invention, I decided to give the recipe for hummus in the little instruction book it came with a try. Yum! And after a little tweaking to better suit my tastes, YUMMM!!!

Lucky for me, hummus is both gluten free and vegan! It’s also pretty low-calorie and high fiber if you’re watching your waistline. Plus, there are so many ways to eat it! My favorite pairing is hummus and bell pepper strips (especially yellow ones), but I’m also pretty fond of tortilla chips. These are my current favorite, Archer Farms brand blue corn with flax seed. Hummus is also great spread on veggie wraps, sandwiches, even on pizzas.

 

Traditional hummus is made with garbanzo beans (also called chick peas), but I like to mix it up and try different beans from time to time. The best thing about this easy recipe is that once you get the hang of it, you try substituting different elements for new flavor combinations! In the summer, I love to mix in handfuls of fresh green herbs like cilantro or parsley. I’ve also tried subbing mixing in an avocado for guacamole hummus! The combinations are endless, and so so yummy!

Basic Hummus Recipe

1 can garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed

1 big fat spoonful tahini (sesame paste)

1 garlic clove

1 tbls olive oil

2 tbls lemon or lime juice

3 tbls water

1 heaping palm full of cumin

1 tsp kosher salt

Combine in food processor or blender and mix until creamy and thoroughly combined, adding more water if mixture gets too thick.

For this black bean version, I substituted a can of black beans for the garbanzos and tomato paste for the tahini. I used lime juice and threw in a little dried cilantro too. It’s great on its own, but I added a little dollop of vegan sour cream, just for good measure. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

