A new year, a new list

Another New Years has passed, let the resolutions abound!! I think that New Years may be my favorite holiday. Not the champagne, fireworks, shiny hat celebrations of New Years Eve; I like the idea that every 365 days, we celebrate the chance for a fresh start. Sure, everyday could be a fresh start if you wanted it to be. There’s something powerful about having a calendar to reaffirm that the clock has (in a way) turned back and you get another chance to make each season better than the prior year’s.

Each year, I make a list of things that I want to accomplish that year. Some lists have been random and a little silly, some meaningful and poignant. This year, my list is all about me! My goal this year is to build a life that makes me happy. Now, before I make myself sound completely conceited, allow me to clarify a bit. I realized lately that my unhappiness greatly hinders me from being able to help others. If I’m depressed, unsettled, angry, etc., I have nothing to give. I’ve tried the whole finding happiness in helping others thing, and I don’t think it works so well for me. So this year, I’m going to try to make myself happy first, and hope that this little experiment will help bring some joy to those around me as well. If not, well there’s always next year.

So without further ado, here’s my list of Things to Do in 2011:

1. Visit at least half of the cities on my list of places that I may want to move to:

  • Athens, GA
  • Savannah, GA
  • Asheville, NC
  • Nashville, TN
  • Burlington, VT
  • Austin, TX
  • Portland, OR
  • Los Angeles, CA
  • Boulder, CO

2. Get fit again. I want to feel strong, look hot, and lose the 20 lbs I’ve gained since I quit running and dancing in May.

3. See at least 15 concerts, and go to at least 1 by myself.

4. Make and sell my own handmade items in my boutique.

5. Gain 100 daily readers on my blog. (I like blogging, so the idea is that if I do it more, more people will want to read my blog. This one is sort of a backwards goal to happiness like that.)

6. Go on a long solo drive just for fun, and take pictures along the way.

7. Get my next tattoo.

8. Read at least 2 books a month.

9. Maintain a vegan diet for at least 300 days out of the year.

10. Grow a real veggie garden this spring.

11. Participate in Project Restyle… 52 restyled, remade, recycled items in 1 year!

That’s it! I reserve the right to add or subtract as the year progresses, but I think that this is a good starting point for now. Things that you may have noticed that are missing from this list… financial goals (I know I should save and pay off debt, and I’ve done pretty well with it in the past. Right now I just want to get by, have enough to support my chosen lifestyle, and make wise choices.)… relationship goals (I clearly am in no place to try to set goals for myself in this arena)… career goals (I have a separate place for these)… and reading Ulysses ( I finished it last week!!). Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

