Artists I Love: Griffin House// The List

Ready for #2 on my list of 12 artists I have loved this year? Ladies & gentlemen, I introduce to you Mr. Griffin House!

 

 

Genre: Rock/folk

How we met: (Technically, we have never “met”, but it sounds better for a title than How I First Discovered His Music, or How I Wound Up Unintentionally Seeing Him Perform. My friend met him though when she worked at his merch table once, and she can attest that he’s very friendly & nice in person.)

I first saw Griffin House when he was opening for Mat Kearney a few years ago. I saw them play at The Roxy, which is a standing room only venue. We got there early and had a front row spot for the opening act. He played an acoustic set with one other guy accompanying him on guitar as well. I was seriously impressed! So much so that I actually enjoyed his set better than I did Mat Kearney’s. Nothing against Mat Kearney though; it was more the crowd I was standing in than the performance. Right before he went on, a gaggle of sorority girls came and stood in front of us. They kept spilling their beers, then squeezing by to buy more, and I swear I watched the two directly in front of me douse themselves in perfume right before he walked out. Griffin won me over when he asked the crowd to stop talking when he played one of his more serious songs. (I had been wanting to tell them to shut up for a while.)

Since then, I have seen him play live more times than I can remember. He did a round (or two?) with the Ten out of Tenn group, plus I’ve seen him solo a few times at Eddie’s Attic and once at Smith’s Old Bar. Every show was great in its own way, I haven’t been disappointed yet! I’ve introduced several of my friends to his music as well and they are now all fans as well. Wait! I did meet him once! I just remembered. It was after one of his shows. My friend who I mentioned earlier wanted to say hi after a show at Eddie’s so I went with her. I remember because I bought her the tickets that night for her birthday present. He was nice, and remembered my friend. Not a diva at all. 😉

Sit, stand, or dance: Sit or dance, it depends on the venue. Once during a show at Eddie’s, he made everyone get up and dance at one point. Although, during another one of his shows there one of my friends got up and started dancing by herself… it was pretty awkward. If you’re standing while he plays, you’ll be dancing at some point!

Buy the album?: Of course! He’s got several, although some are re-releases of the same songs. My favorites are the House of David EP’s and Homecoming. I would recommend browsing his music on his MySpace site or lastfm and figure out which one you like best to start. His sound varies slightly between albums; some are a little more country or folk, others more rock. I honestly haven’t listened to all of his newest release yet, so I can’t say much about it. I like what I’ve heard of it though.

Favorite songs:

1) The Guy That Says Goodbye to You is Out of His Mind

2) The Way I Was Made

3)Only Love Remains

Favorite video:

I Remember (It’s Happening Again)

This is really my favorite song, but since I love the video for it too I thought I’d put it here instead. He wrote the song about his grandfather, and this video reminds me of my great-grandfather. He lived with my family and would often just randomly break off into stories about his time in WWII. Good memories.


It’s hard to really capture how great of a musical artist he is with just a few videos, but hopefully this gives you enough of a taste that you’ll go get more of his music on your own. It doesn’t look like he’s currently touring, but if you hear his name playing near you in the future, go! You won’t regret it!

 

photo by Martin Dam Kristensen, Source: http://www.myspace.com/griffinhouse

 

 

Leave a Reply

