Workin’ Hard (or Hardly Working)// Homemade Happy Hour

What better way to welcome us all back to work this gloomy Monday than with our next installment of Homemade Happy Hour!

In the spirit of our recent holiday for giving thanks, today I am thankful that I don’t have to leave my house. That doesn’t mean that I haven’t been busy today; I have found ti can be far more tiring trying to run your own start up business, maintain a household, and search for a part-time job. So today’s HHH is a hard earned break for little ole’ me.

I call this baby Workin’ Hard (or Hardly Working) because you can choose which way you want to make it; the easy way, or the hard way. Today I chose the hard way. The main flavor ingrediant in this cocktail is pomegranate juice. You can take the easy way out and just buy a bottle of POM, no shame there. Or, you can be a total Betty Crocker bad-ass and get it fresh from a pomegranate!

I have recently discovered this lovely fruit and have decided that pomegranate seeds are the best thing ever. They’re not easy to get though! If you’ve ever cut open a pomegranate, you know what I’m talking about. My friend Julie clued me into the little trick of putting the seeds in a bowl of water to separate the pith from the seeds, which is a life saver. Still, I’ve never really managed to capture any of the juice that spurts out when you cut it open… until today. After scraping my seeds into a bowl, I realized that there was quite a bit of juice in there too. Before filling the bowl with water, I drained that lovely juice into a small cup, to save for later. It was exactly one shot glass worth of juice, so I knew just what to do with it!

Workin’ Hard (or Hardly Working)

1 part pomegranate juice

1 part vodka

Citrus flavored sparkling water

Mix juice and vodka together. Top off with sparkling water.

*** Note: My kitchen isn’t heated, so my drinks are always cold. I keep my mixers in the fridge, and some of my liquors in the freezer. Plus, I don’t like my beverages icy cold. I say all that to tell you that you may want to mix the juice and vodka with some ice in a shaker then strain into glass. Mine is cold enough for me poured straight  into the glass.

Cheers! Now time to pay some bills….

Leave a Reply

